Updates from lists 1 and 2

I’m realizing I’m kind of looking forward to the list prompts. I cheated and looked ahead, but it would be really cheating to start responding to the new topic before it is launched, so instead I’m going to do some updates on the old lists. Sort of a progress report kinda thing….

Here’s my update on week one’s list (right after I check those noises coming from my living room: see number 5):

1. Get courageous about facing my financial challenges (yikes) Ok, I guess I would say I’m starting that.  Like I’m opening some envelopes right away that I might have avoided before for awhile. There is no question that this is the hardest, scariest goal in the list.
2. Develop a Mindfulness Meditation Practice (see my blog that will chronicle this journey) On this one, I’m all set to go, with a class registration for an 8 week course based on Jon Kabat Zinn’s model.  Can’t wait!!!
3. Read 36 books: one each from 6 different countries on each of six continents (ok, Oceania is more a region)–you can track my progress on this on Goodreads. For this I’ve already read The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao as book one of the North American set (it’s author is from the Dominican Republic), and I’m currrently reading One Hundred Years of Solitude (South America) and Nervous Conditions (Africa)
4. Read 36 books from the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die lists. Apparently with my life expectancy, and the books I’ve already read, this is what I need to accomplish to succeed in reading them all. The books above are all on the lists (there are actually 3 versions) and I’m also reading Wuthering Heights on my phone, so I’m ahead of the game if I can finish these by the end of January.
5. Enjoy and contribute meaningfully to my family. Well, I’m hoping the stew and cookies I made after I took the 3 year old to the doctor this morning count toward that.  They definitely count toward the enjoying part. So does taking the dog out to make bulldog snow angels.
6. Find hundreds of geocaches. Hide some too. Not so good so far this year on this topic, but it is cold and snowy and not ideal weather for finding caches.
7. Get back to running. Log respectable times in at least 2 half marathons. See above. I need to get to the gym at least.
8. Love my life. Yup.  That part is going great. Stew, family, pets, books all help with this!
9. Oh, and post weekly here as an active part of the List Love Book Club and the PostaWeek Challenge through WordPress…Check!

Now the second list still has me stumped.  I probably cried in some spots reading Narnia books, but again, I can’t say for sure on ANY of these books.  Very weird. I admit that I try to avoid books where animals die, so that I won’t cry, but it does seem weird that I can’t think for sure of ANY.  The following books have made me laugh recently:

  1. A Confederacy of Dunces
  2. White Noise
  3. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao

Lots of books do that.  I couldn’t even list them all.  I guess I laugh more easily than I cry. Or I read funny writers. Or something.  I think this is probably a good thing if it applies to my life as well as to books. And I think it does.  Short sentences are fun.  Maybe I should read Hemmingway next…

I’ll be back with other updates between list posts. For now it is either more stew or a nap.

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Old Blog Topics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

