Unnecessarily Nervous about Nervous Conditions

Just a quick update on my reading goals. I just finished reading Nervous Conditions, which was my Rhodesia book for the reading challenge I’m doing that involves reading 6 books from 6 different countries on each of six continents. It’s also on the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die core list (the list of titles that have remained on the list for all 3 editions). I tend to be intimidated by books like this. I am afraid that because someone has labeled them “important,” that they will be a struggle to read. I am especially fearful when the author is an international one, whose story-telling methods could be different from a typical American novelist’s. I shouldn’t have worried with this book. It was immediately engaging. My only regret on finishing it is that the sequel, finally written, is not published in the US (but is available in the UK and you can get it on Amazon, but I’m not expecting it to show up anytime soon on my local library sale shelf…)*. It’s going on my wishlist. Here is what I said about Nervous Conditions on Good Reads:
Nervous ConditionsNervous Conditions by Tsitsi Dangarembga

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A moving story of a young girl’s coming of age in 1960s and 1970 Rhodesia. It illuminates the conflicts generated at the intersections of traditional and European cultures, as African women tried to find a place in a society in transition.

View all my reviews

Now I’m off to start a lighter book from New Zealand, a mystery by Ngaio Marsh. It is amazingly hard to come up with 6 books by authors from or set in different places in Oceania (Australia and NZ are the easy ones), so please post suggestions if you have any!!!

*Update 1/17/11: Apparently, you can also get The Book of Not through B&N, but for some reason it didn’t come up for me when I searched for it.

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unnecessarily Nervous about Nervous Conditions

  1. Anonymous Me says:

    Too bad you have an e-peep in the UK!!! If you want me to hook you up with the sequel, let me know. Is it the Book of Not? I am ALL over Amazon UK anyway getting things for school, so it’s not a big deal! Have your people call my people! 😉

  2. You just added a few more books to my ques.

Leave a Reply

