List 5: Places I’d Like to Visit

Wow, this is a fun topic. I love traveling, and I had some great adventures traveling alone and with friends, on a budget or on the employer’s dime. So I’m going to do two lists: places I’d like to visit (in this post) and an extra post of places I’m dying to visit again (sometime before the next official list post). Both lists are in no particular order, since I’d pretty much like to go any of the places equally.

A Taste of Madagascar's Wildlife

Joffa Gate at Sunset, Israel

Ireland: It's just so green

Scotland

Greek Coast

Tuscany: Always Enchanted?

Maruia Falls, New Zealand

Denali Wildlife

Photo Courtesy of CostaRicaPhotos.com

1. Madagascar. Because of little dudes like this and so much other amazing wildlife there, I don’t just want to visit, I want to move there and spend my life tracking interesting critters. There is an organization called Earthwatch that lets you pay to spend your vacation working on someone’s research project. The ones in Madagascar are my fantasy trips (the one I did was about armadillos in Fl, and even that was amazingly cool!). I really can’t imagine anything more cool than spending my days hiking through forests looking at lemurs.

2. Israel. I’m Jewish. I converted. I will feel slightly fraudulent until I see Israel. I’m reading an amazing book about Israel right now that only makes me want to visit more. My step-son will probably live there all next year (on a program called Nativ). Stepmonster is very jealous.

3. Ireland. I’m Irish. Also feeling a little fraudulent on this one. Really want to visit, sip a pint, look at the amazingly green landscape. SIGH.

4. Scotland. Well, Scottish and Irish. I’m a Stewart. And again, while I’ve been to the UK, I’ve been to England and Wales, not the spots my ancestors came from. My mom is going to Iona this summer. Now I’m jealous in two generational directions.

5. Ok, I’m not Greek, and I don’t worship Greek Deities. Greece is just spectacular. And warm. And there is an ocean. And the food is yummy.

6. Maybe I’ve just seen too many films like Enchanted April, but I really think a few months in Tuscany (or anywhere else in Italy, frankly) would do me a world of good. Fresh veggies, some good wine, a nice hunk of crusty bread and some cheese…. AHHHHH.

7. New Zealand. Every time I see film or images of the place, it looks breathtaking. And I hear the hiking is great.

8. Denali National Park in Alaska. I got hooked on Dana Stabenow’s Kate Shugak novels awhile back, and they give a sense of what it is like living in an Alaksan national park. Since then, I’ve been really interested in visiting Denali. I was lucky enough to go on a cruise to Alaska to celebrate my in-laws’ 50th anniversary, but we were on the coast and not too far up. It was absolutely amazing, and only made me want to see the rest of Alaska even more!!

9. Costa Rica. Beaches. Rainforest. Critters. Yup, gotta go there.

The reality is that there are very few places I wouldn’t like to visit, given the chance, but these are ones I’ve pined for repeatedly!

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Old Blog Topics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to List 5: Places I’d Like to Visit

  1. NotoriousMLE says:

    Alaska reminds me that I think I would love to go to Antartica. Can you imagine?

    • I would love to see the wildlife there, as long as I don’t have to do any shoveling (just spent the beginning of my morning that way, and warm and sunny is sounding better to me than Alaska right now!).

  2. Mrs.Idiot says:

    Costa Rica…amazing! Hope you make it there one day and make sure to try ziplining through the rainforest!

  3. Israel is on my list as well. One day….

  4. This is a great list. And I want to go to every single of of these places as well (many, are in fact, on my list)! Well, except for Madagascar, maybe. My family would love it, but I’m a little phobic of critters. You’re a psychologist- maybe you could help me on that one?? 😉

    Very cool that you converted to Judaism. My father did as well.

  5. Great list and reasons why! I went to Denali and it is unbelievably awesome.

  6. Forgot to say 2 things.

    1) I agree with Joyce. I love your pictures, and your description of why you’d like to visit each place.

    2) Where was that picture on your header taken? It’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

