Places I’d Like to Return To

Yeah, yeah. The title should be “Places To Which I’m Dying to Return” or something. Grammar FAIL. Oh Well. Pictures are in the links this time.

  1. Japan.  I lived there for 6 months in 1988.  It was really overwhelming at first. Tokyo is huge and very visually busy with symbols that I couldn’t decipher.  But I was quickly charmed by the friendly people, and I loved exploring the city and the surrounding countryside.  Most weekends my boyfriend and I went on amazing hikes in the mountains and forests beyond the city.  It was spectacular, and the public transit system made getting to the most remote village a breeze. The book Day Walks Near Tokyo was invaluable in helping us find our way on these expeditions, with clues about where to find trailheads, what buses to take, and which trails ended at an onsen (hot spring) right near a bus-stop for a route back to the city.
  2. Hawaii.  I am completely in love with these islands, especially The Big Island and Kauai.  I don’t stay in fancy hotels when I visit–I camp on the beach or stay in hostels.  That leaves money for kayak rentals, sunset whale watches, and other fun adventures.  It also tends to mean a chance to meet very cool and interesting people from all over the world, doing the same thing.
  3. China.  I visited in 1986, so a lot has changed.  I also have two nieces from there, and it could be amazing to take them to visit the land where they were born.  Also, the last time I stood on the Great Wall, it was totally fogged in, so I kind of feel like I didn’t do the wall.  The first trip, I was only in Beijing, except for the wall trip.  Next time, I would like to see much more of the country and would love to see the baby pandas!
  4. India. I have been a little obsessed with India since high school, when a bunch of my friends were Indian. I studied Asian religions in college, which made the obsession a little worse. We visited there on the way home from Japan, but only stayed a few days, and only saw Delhi and Agra. I’d like to actually spend some time in the country getting more of a feel for the place.
  5. Thailand. I want to see the temples sparkling in the sunlight again, cruise on the river, and EAT. Yum. It would be cool to see the coast, too, since last time (again on that trip home from Japan), we didn’t see the coast at all.
  6. France. Paris is magical, as far as I’m concerned, and I can’t imagine ever getting too much of it. I love to wander the streets, eat crepes, look at the architecture, and just drink in the atmosphere. But even more lovely is the Provencal countryside. I have never had vegetables that tasted as good as those we ate in the village of Barbentane, where I stayed 3 weeks one June. And there is a monastery called Frigolet, on a hillside near there, that makes a scrumptious liqueur that I have been craving since my return to the states in 1993.
  7. Wales. I fell in love with Wales when I visited. I decided I would like to live in the little village of Dolgellau and take a dog for a walk around the Precipice Walk each day. And I fell in love with the peaceful beauty of Tintern Abbey.  I would love to get back and just spend some time sitting among the beautiful ruins.
  8. Corea, Maine. Went here to visit the village where my grandmother spent her first 10 years and was enchanted. She had always talked of how happy she was there, and it was a marvelous little gem, so long as you don’t need to be entertained. There is nothing to do there but read and enjoy the scenery. You even have to go for a drive to find a restaurant, but it is pretty special. My grandmother’s best friend’s house is now a very lovely B&B.
About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

