List #6: Artists You Love

So I’m mostly not going to go with the big names on this one.  I’d rather share some people you may not know about, but I enjoy.  The exception is in the dance category. If you are a modern dance fan, you’ve heard of my pick, but my sense is that modern dance is not something lots of people are really familiar with.

Painting:

A shout out to a local artist whose work I really enjoy, our own list-maker Joye Schwartz.  Her work hangs in our offices and I find it a source of great pleasure each time I go in.  I aspire to earn enough to start collecting my own JoyefulArt!

And of course I like a bunch of big names. The impressionists are still high on my list: Renoir, Monet, Seurat.

Sculpture:

Discovered this artist when I was running the Country Music Half Marathon last spring.  He did the official artwork for the race.  This man sculpts entirely of crayons.  Yup–those things you drew with as a kid.  His stuff makes me so happy.  Check him out: Herb Williams.

Credit must go to Jenny Lynn of Updates from the Field for introducing me to G. Augustine Lynas who does sand and snow sculptures! Check out the one on Jenny Lynn’s blog post from yesterday.

Big names: Rodin, Henry Moore

I love sculpture gardens wherever I can find them.

Music:

I used to hang out at Eddie’s Attic in Decatur, GA a lot when I lived in Atlanta. It is a truly amazing place to hear music by up and coming singer-songwriters. One of my favorite discoveries from the time I spent there is Jennifer Daniels. Other people I loved to hear there: Kristen Hall, Sam Shaber and Jeffery Hyde Thompson.

Dance:

Ok, my friend Joe Bowie, at Brown, fellow work study serf in the Econ Department, English major, fellow teacher at the Exploration Summer Program discovered at Brown that he liked to dance. More than that, he was astoundingly good. I started watching him dance at Brown, but then he went on to much bigger things, and I became a little addicted to modern dance. I spent way too much money at City Center and the Joyce Theater when I was in grad school, but it was worth every penny, because I got to see amazing performances, by the companies of Alvin Ailey, Martha Graham, Mark Morris (with whom Joe has danced for years now), and my absolute favorite, the Paul Taylor Dance Company. If you get a chance to see them, don’t pass it up!

As a postscript: here is my dog, Beulah, pretending to be a Goya painting.

Beulah by Goya

Beulah by Goya

Ok, she should be looking at the viewer, but still.

LATE BREAKING NEWS: Siobhan O’Malley, for whom I was a babysitter WAY back in the day, just released her 3rd EP. She is a singer-songwriter in NYC, and I think she’s pretty good. Quick pictures, video and audio here.

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Old Blog Topics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to List #6: Artists You Love

  1. Elchico says:

    Nice list! I actually didn’t know most of the artists you chose (to be honest, none, apart from the big names:)) so THANKS for making me discover them.

    I really liked Herb Williams, it reminds me a little of Vik Muniz, whom I think you might like 😉

  2. This one was a challenge… such a BROAD topic… and I loved your take on it. I shared with Joyce and Jennifer, in their comments, that it is a huge goal of mine (this year) to learn more about art, and artists (modern and traditional). So, I appreciate reading everyone’s posts, whether they stuck with traditional well known artists or modern, not so well known.

    And how cool that you gave Joyce a shout out! She is extremely talented and I’d love to purchase one of her paintings as well.

  3. Anonymous Me says:

    ROFL! on Beulah as a Goya! Good call! One of my faves of his is “Riña de los Gatos” (here’s the link: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Riña_de_gatos.jpg) which is basically Sweet Girl and Handsomes on a daily basis. 🙂

Leave a Reply

