A Fresh Start

Ok, so I blew it. Badly. Only made it about a fifth of the way into the year. Even in baseball, an average below .200 is really bad. So what made my attempts at list making crash and burn? I think it was that the lists didn’t matter much to me. Or were overwhelming. Or both. I stopped the week we had to list cocktails we could make. I worked one summer as a bartender. But it was a long time ago. So that was both overwhelming and personally irrelevant at once. 

So here is how I get back on track: Do random lists that are relevant to me. Right now, I could easily list the weird combination of things my 4 year old is willing to eat:

  • the right brand of salmon burgers (from whole foods, frozen)
  • edamame
  • tobiko (flying fish eggs)
  • bamba (Israeli peanut flavored cerealish snack)
  • cheese pizza
  • bagel w/ cream cheese
  • chicken nuggets
  • apples
  • hotdog rolls (hotdogs themselves, not so much)
  • frosted miniwheats
  • tuna sandwiches
  • as of this lunchtime, a peanut butter sandwich

Maybe the PB sandwich is not new, but I had forgotten because I can’t ever send them to school because of the peanut allergies of classmates.

There’s another list that could be interesting: things that have changed since I was her age. When I was her age, people were not allergic to peanut butter. Someone really needs to figure out what changed on that one. It was a good thing when you could take PB and jelly sandwiches to school without fear of killing a classmate. So maybe the what has changed since 1969 could be a fun list. Sometime.

Another easy list: Books I’ve read and loved this year. I have kept up with reading this year, and I have been keeping track of what I’ve read. If you care:
There will be a Goodreads widget here soon, too.

Ok, I’ll be back to update a bit soon, but at least I’m back…

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

