Goodbye, Kiribati!

Around the World in Books

Moving right along!

Well, it is time to move along from Kiribati. It was a fun visit, but I won’t be leaving my Philadelphia life for this remote island any time soon. Kauai, in a heartbeat; Kiribati, not so much. But Troost is a great tour guide, and I am glad to have stopped by. Here is my final review as posted on Goodreads:
The Sex Lives of Cannibals: Adrift in the Equatorial PacificThe Sex Lives of Cannibals: Adrift in the Equatorial Pacific by J. Maarten Troost

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Funny account of life in one of the remotest places on earth. The author and his girfriend go to live on Tawara, a tiny atoll which is part of the country of Kiribati. Kiribati, as he tells us, has the land mass of the Baltimore metro area, broken up in 33 pieces, and scattered across an expanse of ocean the size of the continental US. This is not a good book to read in bed if your partner is asleep, since you will wake said partner when you can’t help laughing outloud. It is a funny book, but it will probably not make you want to move to Kiribati–at least not to the atoll on which they spent 2 years. I actually found J. Maarten Troost‘s second book (Getting Stoned with Savages: A Trip Through the Islands of Fiji and Vanuatu) even funnier, but you can’t go wrong with either one!

View all my reviews

So today I will be off to Pitcairn Island. I’m reading Pitcairn Island from the Bounty Trilogy, so I’ll be travelling in time, as well as space. I’ll let you know what I think, and what I’m eating, when I get there!

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Around the World 2012, Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye, Kiribati!

  1. Jenny says:

    Thanks for the review! I have this on my list too, but I haven’t been inspired to visit Kiribati quite yet.

  2. I’ve never known that there is a country by this name also, and now am all intrigued. Thanks for the review, Beth! 🙂

Leave a Reply

