Pitcairn Cuisine: Pumpkin Pilhi

Pumpkin Pilhi

YUMMMM!

So just the name of this dish tells you things are much better, foodwise, on Pitcairn. There is fruit. There are vegetables. When I looked up a recipe for pilhi, which seems to be something brought by the mutineers’ wives from Polynesia, I found a kind of cute recipe. Four ingredients: a pumpkin, 3 coconuts, a cup of flour, a teacup of sugar. My problem is that, well, I’m lazy and I don’t have teacups. So I need some equivalents. How many cans of pumpkin pie filling, how much coconut milk, and just what is the size difference between the sugar and flour measures? You gotta love the web. A 2 lb pumpkin is about a cup of puree, a coconut gives you about 1/4 cup of milk, and a teacup is 3/4 a cup. So combine this stuff by sifting in the sugar and flour and bake an hour at 400 degrees. Ok, this is a recipe I can work with.

Had this tonight with a rerun of our Trinidad dinner (which really may be our every day dinner). This recipe receives rave reviews from all of us (including picky 4 year old). You can also do it with sweet potato and breadfruit, by the way. YUMMMMMM!

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pitcairn Cuisine: Pumpkin Pilhi

  1. Pragya says:

    Yum yum, Pitcairn. If a piece is left, send my way. No? I guessed so. 😦

  2. Diane Dargaville says:

    I can’t wait till I give it ago. My Grandmother use 2 make this or Pumpkin Pie or Baked Rice with bread rolls 4 our Sunday Family Dinners here in Auckland N.Z…

Leave a Reply

