Martin Dressler: My Pulitzer island read

As you may recall, I decided to stay on Pitcairn rather than continue around the world so that I could be on the island for Bounty Day. My mission was to take side trips in my reading to less exotic places in my To Be Read pile. I’m actually reading several things at the moment on different devices and in different locations (home vs. work, etc.), but this one was on my shelf and was requested on Paperbackswap, so I decided to give it a quick read before sending it on. I’m really glad I did–definitely enjoyed this one.

Here is the Goodreads summary: “Young Martin Dressler begins his career as an industrious helper in his father’s cigar store.  In the course of his restless young manhood, he makes a swift and eventful rise to the top, accompanied  by two sisters–one a dreamlike shadow, the other a worldly business partner. As the eponymous Martin’s vision becomes bolder and bolder he walks a haunted line between fantasy and reality, madness and ambition, art and industry, a  sense of doom builds piece-by-hypnotic piece until this mesmerizing journey into the heart of an American dreamer reaches its bitter-sweet conclusion.”

And here is my little review: Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American DreamerMartin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer by Steven Millhauser

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a charming tale. A bright, creative boy dreams a dream in the last quarter of the 19th century. It is a time when America, and New York City in particular, is growing and transforming. We watch as the young boy becomes a man, and his dream unfolds. It is a tale of vision, and of vision meeting reality. It is full of imagination and optimism, tempered with the frustrations that emerge when dreams and realities meet.

 

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Books, Pulitzer Prize and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Martin Dressler: My Pulitzer island read

  1. Pragya says:

    Mmm, the book looks good. I hope you had fun on Bounty Day. Where are you off to, now?

Leave a Reply

