Another Pitcairn Pulitzer Read

I’m really enjoying the reading list I’m tackling while I wait for Bounty Day and my move on to Tahiti. This one is the January read for my Pulitzer group on Goodreads. It was wonderful!

Here is the Goodreads summary: ”

One of the most acclaimed novels in recent memory, The Known Worldis a daring and ambitious work by Pulitzer Prize winner Edward P. Jones.

The Known World tells the story of Henry Townsend, a black farmer and former slave who falls under the tutelage of William Robbins, the most powerful man in Manchester County, Virginia. Making certain he never circumvents the law, Townsend runs his affairs with unusual discipline. But when death takes him unexpectedly, his widow, Caldonia, can’t uphold the estate’s order, and chaos ensues. Jones has woven a footnote of history into an epic that takes an unflinching look at slavery in all its moral complexities.”

And my review: The Known WorldThe Known World by Edward P. Jones

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Just briefly, this is a beautiful novel. It’s poignant, wise, and taught me a great deal about a phenomenon I knew nothing about: black slave owners in the South before the Civil War. The issues of social relations between whites, free blacks (with and without slaves), and slaves, and the issues of identity for the free blacks who had to figure out where and how they fit in this dangerously fluid social fabric, were beautifully explored as the novel wove back and forth in time in the lives of the characters. I am putting the other works of Edward P. Jones on my “to be read” shelf immediately.

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Books, Pulitzer Prize and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Pitcairn Pulitzer Read

  1. Pragya says:

    Are you sure you are moving to Tahiti on Bounty Day? I think you have fallen in love with Pitcairn Island. 😉

    Alright, this looks like the book to read. 😀

  2. I have, but I do want to see the rest of the world! Trying to sneak in one last side read before I leave, though!!

Leave a Reply

