Bounty Day has Finally Arrived!

Bounty Day StampI’ve been waiting much of the month for this day to arrive. Today is the day that everyone on Pitcairn Island celebrates the burning of what was left of The Bounty so that the mutineers would not be caught if someone approached the harbor. I am going to link you to a firsthand report of Bounty Day from last year. Thanks to Mel and Kelley for an up-close look at this holiday on Pitcairn. Once I’m done celebrating, I’m off to Tahiti, where I will reading Breadfruit by Célestine Hitiura Vaite.

Half Way Around?: Bounty Day at Pitcairn Island.

Burning the Bounty on Bounty Day

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

