A Final Pitcairn Read and then Off to Tahiti!

Just finished The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte (who I didn’t even know existed til recently). I enjoyed it, and it went much faster once I was reading on a real Kindle, rather than the Kindle app on my phone.

Goodreads summary: “Gilbert Markham is deeply intrigued by Helen Graham, a beautiful and secretive young woman who has moved into nearby Wildfell Hall with her young son. He is quick to offer Helen his friendship, but when her reclusive behavior becomes the subject of local gossip and speculation, Gilbert begins to wonder whether his trust in her has been misplaced. It is only when she allows Gilbert to read her diary that the truth is revealed and the shocking details of the disastrous marriage she has left behind emerge…Told with great immediacy, combined with wit and irony, “The Tenant of Wildfell Hall” is a powerfully involving read.”

My review: The Tenant of Wildfell HallThe Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Anne Bronte takes a look at the way marriage can disintegrate into a painful emotionally abusive morass if one’s mate is not chosen wisely. She also explores the role of gossip and innuendo in making the world very difficult for good people. At first I found it slow going, but once I was hooked, it went quickly.

Now I’m saying good-bye to Pitcairn and heading to Tahiti for some more relaxing beach time with Breadfruit.

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in 1001 Books, Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

