From Tahiti with Love

My Tahiti read was Breadfruit by Celestine Vaite. It was a light read, breezy, potentially a nice beach read. The usual reviews follow. Since I worked from 11 am to 10 tonight, there was not time to cook a Tahitian dish, and we head out of town tomorrow (well, actually today, since I was up late reading) for the weekend. I will try to make up for this slip when I return, but I may be a few countries ahead by then. Unless the library gets my New Zealand book to me soon, there also may need to be detours in my route. I will say that I looked into cooking a breadfruit for this read, and basically learned that I won’t be able to get one. They are apparently not so easy to obtain in the northeastern US. If someone in Philly knows otherwise, let me know!!!

Goodreads summary: “When a drunken Pito proposes to Materena, she initially thinks it’s just the booze talking. As she nevertheless starts planning, she juggles everyday life only to have Pito act as though he’s forgotten his proposal.”

My review: Breadfruit: A NovelBreadfruit: A Novel by Célestine Hitiura Vaite
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

On one hand, this is basically chick lit–a woman in Tahiti and her life with her boyfriend and their three kids. On the other hand, there is a wonderful introduction to Tahitian culture and the music of Tahitian thought in the speech of the narrator. I enjoyed the book, it was light and easy reading. I liked the characters, felt drawn into their world, and feel I have a sense of what it is like to live awhile the everyday Tahitian life. I’m not much of a chick lit person, but I enjoyed this book and may read others by the author in the future.

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Around the World 2012, Books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Tahiti with Love

  1. Pragya says:

    Beth, you are zipping through books!!! :O

    And I love the fact you are trying to cook something from each visit. 😀

    I have this book on my list, looks like a good read going from your review.

  2. Phaedosia says:

    This sounds like a great challenge! I’ve had “Frangipani” by Celestine Vaite sitting on my TBR shelf for months now–I’m moving it to the top of the list!

Leave a Reply

