From the Profound to the Absurd

Well, I said I was afraid the next book after Fatelessness would seem less profound, and I guess it was good to have gone next to the Ukraine, where The Nose was certainly not intended to be taken seriously. Gogol wrote an amusing little tale which I could quickly read in bed on my Kindle between a late night at work and falling asleep with the various other mammals already snoozing (and, in some cases, snoring) in our bed. Here is my review: The NoseThe Nose by Nikolai Gogol
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Amusing tale about a haughty guy who’s nose gives him a bit of a snub by going on a walkabout (appearing in couture of a higher social rank, refusing to get back on his face). Was a fun little ride, but I’m not entirely sure why I HAD to read it before I died.

View all my reviews

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in 1001 Books, Around the World 2012, Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

