WWW Wednesday (March 21)

This is a meme hosted by MizB @ Should Be Reading. that I learned about via my subscription to The Reviewing Shelf. I thought this week I would play along. The idea is that you should answer three questions:

What are you reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

So you know that what I just read is The Piano Teacher by Elfriede Jelinek. And you know I bailed quickly on Fiji. The reason I’m doing this post is that it might be a while til my next post because what I’m now reading is Nicholas Nickleby by Dickens, which is almost a thousand pages. I read a lot, but that’s a long book, and I do have a job, a four year old, a husband I like to talk some times, and it’s March Madness time (for those not in 15 bracket pools currently, this is the amazing NCAA basketball tournament that takes over my life for two long weekends each spring, ever since some guys at a foster care agency where I was a supervisor got me to join their pool one year). And what will I probably read next? A Thousand and One Nights which, depending on what version I choose, will range from a few hundred pages to thousands. So I might not be stopping by much. I’ll try to keep you entertained in some other ways while I get through these wonderful LONG classics.  Meanwhile, please play along in the comments section. I would LOVE to know what you are reading!

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WWW Wednesday (March 21)

  1. Pragya says:

    Yay! You hopped in. 🙂

    1000 pages! Good luck to you. I am hoping to read Moby Dick and Cutting for stone and their size intimidates me even though they are less than a 1000 pages each.

    I love Basketball. However, I’m not sure what the pool entails.

    You are going to be one busy lady. 🙂

    • The pools I’m in are mostly for bragging rights or charity fundraisers. We try to predict the winners of all of the games in the tournament. I got hooked the first year by just cheering on the teams I had randomly picked (ok, not random–I favored elite schools and Jesuit schools and schools from which I had friends). I won the one last year for the psych department in Georgia where I taught for 9 years; a few of us who moved away are still in it every year. I tend to try to watch in sports bars where you can see multiple games at once, at least for the first couple days. This is harder now than it used to be when I was single and childless. But I’m sure I looked bizarre this year reading The Piano Teacher on my Kindle at the bar whenever things were less suspenseful in the games…

  2. Pragya says:

    Ah, alright. So great you won. Good luck this time.

    Ha ha. I am sure everyone was giving you curious stares while you were busy reading. 🙂

  3. Sue Drees says:

    Good luck with your reading Beth. The long books can be fun in their own way. I’ve read a few 500 pagers so far this year and would like to fit in some Dickens and W&P at some point.

    Right now I’m reading the Wild Swans, My Name is Red, and Fatal Inversion while also participating in a year-long read of Middlemarch. I’m also about to begin Arab Conquests. I do a lot of compartmentalizing to keep it straight but most of them are wildly different from the others which helps.

Leave a Reply

