Where’d She Go?

Geocache

Distraction 1

Ok, so you might have noticed I’ve been a little MIA lately. Yes, I have been working a lot and Katie, my 4 year old daughter, was home from school last week. But I also haven’t really settled on a next read. I’m listening to The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing on audio, and I love it, but it is something like 28 hours long, and I have a 5 minute commute to work. So no matter how much I love it, it will be awhile. It might motivate me to get back to running actually. I started The Harafish by Naguib Mahfouz and was enjoying it, although Mahfouz reads tend to feel kind of leisurely to me–his books please but don’t grip me–but then I found out the group I was planning to read it with have put it off til August. So now I think I’m going to wait to finish it with the group. I was starting The Trial by Kafka on the Kindle, but I haven’t even gotten out of the preface, and I keep getting waylaid by the stupidly addictive Angry Birds app I put on there. I’m supposed to read Wise Children by Angela Carter for another group read, but haven’t gotten a copy yet, and I haven’t gotten beyond page 2 of Sport of Nature by Nadine Gordimer, another current group read, because I keep trying to read it while Katie is awake. Tonight, though, I started Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner (for my Pulitzer Group) instead of going and getting dinner between patients. I’m hooked. This is going to be a good one. So expect a review of this one soon.

But really, it hasn’t been the books. It got nice out all of a sudden, and baseball started, and I remembered how much I like geocaching. So books have been competing with sunlight and flowering trees, with Cliff Lee, Roy Halladay, Hunter Pence and our great Phillies broadcast team (they are remarkably funny to listen to), and with the masochistic pleasure of battling ticks, vines, prickers, hills and creeks in order to discover some camo’ed tupperware container with a logbook and some funny toys that Katie loves. Oh, and I did have to do taxes. And my husband did just go out to get my daughter a bike and got one for me at the same time.

But I promise not to neglect you, my faithful subscribers! I will keep you posted on my reading (even if it slows down just a teensy bit), and maybe I’ll encourage you to get out with a GPS and find silly little containers in the woods near you! Oh, and GO PHILLIES (who are, as I type, in an insane pitching battle with SF, shutout on both sides in the bottom of the 10th)!

So what are YOUR biggest reading distractions?

Phillies

Distraction 2

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Books, Distractions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where’d She Go?

Leave a Reply

