A Romp Through Lima

I’ve completed another stop on my world tour, despite being torn between other enjoyable reading temptations that don’t further that journey. This one was a fun semi-autobiographical tour of Peru with Nobelist Mario Vargas Llosa. It was the July read for the Nobel Goodreads group. It also finally gets me to South America, which is the only region I have yet to visit on my 6 books, 6 countries, 6 continents challenge. Here’s my current July – September progress chart and my review of Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter.

July to October Goals:

  • Orange July 1 2 3
  • Around the World: Africa: 1, 2 Asia 1 South America 1 2 3 4 5 6 Other countries 1 2 3 4
  • 1001 Books 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
  • Nobel: July Aug Sept
  • Pulitzer: July Aug Sept
  • Great Africa Reads: July Aug Sept

Aunt Julia and the ScriptwriterAunt Julia and the Scriptwriter by Mario Vargas Llosa
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter by Mario Vargas Llosa is a delightful romp through the streets of Lima. The novel alternates between the tale of a young law student’s romance with his aunt’s sister who arrives from Bolivia after her divorce and episodes of the radio serials composed by the recently hired Bolivian scriptwriter working at a station owned by the laws student’s employers. The protagonist has a part time job at the other station in the same group, as news director, and he befriends the new scriptwriter. The writer is slowly unraveling from overwork, and it shows in his writing, in which stories from different scheduled programs become increasingly entangled and confused. Meanwhile the romance between the 18 year old news director and the middle-aged divorcee causes scandal in the family, and a resulting madcap search of the countryside for a mayor willing to overlook details of the marriage laws eventually ensues. The writing itself is delightful and amusing, painting little glimpses of Peruvian life as the plot moves quickly along. This book doesn’t try to do anything heavy or profound, but it is a marvelous diversion.

View all my reviews

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Around the World 2012, Books, Nobel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Romp Through Lima

  1. Cassie says:

    I love to just enjoy a book every once in a while without it being “heavy or profound.” This sounds like that kind of book. Plus, so many love affairs! I really like the idea of this challenge and I’m so bad about branching out to different countries with my reading. I hardly ever read anything that isn’t American or from the UK.

    • Cassie, I was the same way until last year when I did my 6 books, 6 countries, 6 continents challenge. Now I want to do it every year, so that I don’t revert to my old habits (not likely, but there are still authors I’d miss if I didn’t set regional goals).

      • Cassie says:

        Do you have any recommendations of books that I could start with? I think I really need to read more Eastern literature to be honest. If you have any really wonderful recommendations – I’d be happy to hear them!

Leave a Reply

