Trying Wilkie Collins in a Readalong

Ok, so I just barely finished all my July stuff and apparently I am not busy enough trying to read what is already on my plate, being a mom, having a job, and trying to watch the entire Olympics. Apparently I need another group read. I’ve heard rave reviews of Wilkie Collins, but never read him, and accidentally (via another book blog) discovered this readalong. And being me, I had to join. There’s a schedule for this read:

August 8: prologue through first period, chapter XIV

August 15: chapter XV through second period, first narrative, chapter VI

August 22: chapter VII through second period, third narrative, chapter VII

August 29: finish

so I will pace myself and just read this with the group. Oh, and my Harafish group read is about to start too, so I will be reading that whenever people get going with it.

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in 1001 Books, Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Trying Wilkie Collins in a Readalong

  1. Alice says:

    Why hello!

    Happy to have you joining us. This will be awesomely fun, AND we’ll get to read a(nother) Wilkie novel. If you get too busy and want to leave you a week or something, that is TOTES fine, for we have no rules or angry people.

  2. @MegsGranger says:

    Welcome aboard! I’m glad you’re making time to join in on this one. Watching the Olympics *is* basically a full-time job.

    Also, YOU HAVE A BULLDOG. SQUISHY WRINKLES!

  3. etudesque says:

    Welcome to the readalong! It’s so hard to read when the olympics are on, isn’t it? I get completely sucked into seeing the swimming and 100 meter track races. What are your favorite events to watch?

    • Thanks. I’m trying to read in the middle parts of things. I love track and field, swiming, diving, gymnastics, tennis… Pretty much everything except boxing, really. Meanwhile I love the commercials that are on here with Rupp listening to (very long) books on tape while running.

    • By the way, like your blog, subscribed on Atom, but confess that if it doesn’t come to my mailbox, I may forget to check it. Did I miss a way to do that?

Leave a Reply

