Bout of Books Readathon

Bout of Books Read-a-Thon

I’m a sucker for a readathon. So here goes. This one is being hosted at the Bout of Books Blog and will be chatting on Twitter under #boutofbooks . This is version 5 of the readathon and it runs all week. There’s a goal post standard post for participants, and I’m just going to update this post all week.

Here’s the official blurb for the readathon:

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 13th and runs through Sunday, August 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 5.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. -From the Bout of Books 5.0 team

TIME DEVOTED TO READING

I will be reading all week.

MY GOALS
Make progress on my August reading
Finish Out of Africa in the time alotted for my August Toppler on Goodreads
Live through the half marathon I’m doing Sunday without adequate training.

BOOKS TO READ
A: A Summons to Memphis (audio–August Pulitzer Book on Goodreads)
B: Out of Africa (hardcopy and audio–Aug 1001 Book on Goodreads)
C: The Harafish (hard copy–Goodreads Around the World Group Read)
D: Cloud Atlas (hard copy–For a book challenge on Goodreads)
Added during Bout of Books
E: Petals of Blood by Ngugi wa Thiong’o (hard copy)
F: Nemesis by Phillip Roth (audio)
G: The Road by Cormac McCarthy (audio)
UPDATES

Monday
Number of books I’ve read today: parts of 3
Total number of books I’ve read: parts of 3
Books: A, C, D

Tuesday

Number of books I’ve read today: Parts of 2
Total number of books I’ve read: 1
Books: read from both A and D. Completed and reviewed A (A Summons to Memphis)

Wednesday

Number of books I’ve read today: parts of 2
Total number of books I’ve read: 1 and parts of 2 more
Books: today during the day, just a couple hundred pages of C, but now will put in several hours on D
Cancellations at work made a great reading day possible. Thanks to the other medical professionals who held my patients hostage at their offices through their appointment times with me so that I could read!

Thursday

Number of books I’ve read today: parts of 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 2 and parts of 2 more
Books: D — Finished The Harafish by Naguib Mahfouz. Review.
I had a cancellation today, but also read like a maniac in the breaks between people because I really wanted to see what happened for the rest of this book. I also decided to listen to Philip Roth’s The Nemesis in the car tomorrow for my drive up Rte 95. I probably will finish it before I finish the drive, but it will keep me sane through the worst of the drive.

Friday

Number of books I’ve read today: all of 1 and parts of 2 more
Total number of books I’ve read: 3 and parts of 3 more
Books: D, E, F (Finished Nemesis, review to follow)

Saturday

Number of books I’ve read today: most of 1
Total number of books I’ve read: 3 and parts of 4 more
Books: B
Review of Out of Africa is complete, since I’ve got plenty of sense of it.

Sunday

Number of books I’ve read today: 1 and part of another
Total number of books I’ve read: 4 and parts of 3 more
Books: Finished Out of Africa and am almost done with The Road. Made major progress on these during the half marathon, which I did s l o w l y but relatively comfortably, and given that I hadn’t run for a month and had bronchitis a week and a half ago, was pretty good, I thought.

This has been SO much fun and I will be looking out for the next one!!

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Distractions, Food, Orange, Other Prizes, Pulitzer Prize, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bout of Books Readathon

  1. Great start! I wish I could work on more than one book at once. I get totally confused with plot lines and end up wondering what the heck is going on. Good luck on the rest of the week!

  2. vanbraman says:

    Of course A is the most important :-). The discussion has started in our group. I am not reading the book this month since I just read it less than two years ago.

    • Just finished it and piped up on the Pulitzer discussion list. I loved it. Now I will get back to Cloud Atlas (The Harafish is at work, and I have to try to get through Out of Africa in a 24 hour period Saturday to Sunday..)

  3. You are doing amazing so far!! 🙂

  4. Thien-Kim says:

    Sounds like you got lots of reading done! Thank goodness for patients held hostage.

  5. Pragya says:

    Ooh, good to see you participating and you’re doing so great!!

  6. Great job! I currently have 3 books going at the same time too. I do that a lot though. I try to mix up the genres a little so I don’t mix things up 😉 Enjoy the last day!

Leave a Reply

