In Mississippi Hunting for Bobby’s Killer

Lest you all think I only read from the 1001 list and such, here’s a peek into my guilty pleasure reading. I tend to really love a good mystery/thriller. I have a few authors I read a lot, and John Sandford is one of my favorites. I love his Prey series books, but I also enjoy the other series, including the one I just wolfed down a book from–the Kidd novels. Kidd is an artist, but also a hacker and an uncaught criminal. He hangs out with other skilled criminals, but also had been dating a cop from the Prey series. In this novel, his friend Bobby has been killed, and his computer stolen. Since Bobby is a master hacker and had info about the doings of many of his friends, they are feeling some urgency not only about avenging his murder, but also about putting the stolen computer out of commission before any potentially incriminating information about them gets out. This book was a quick fun read, but I’m a little sorry, since it took place in Mississippi, that I didn’t save it for the Around the US challenge I’m planning to do next year. I’ll have to find another Mississippi option. Here is my Goodreads review of The Hanged Man’s Song.

The Hanged Man's Song (Kidd & LuEllen, #4)The Hanged Man’s Song by John Sandford
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As always, I enjoy John Sandford as a quick break from my more “serious reading.” I always grab his books when I see one I haven’t read, and I squirrel them away for a time when I have time or a break or just need to get unstuck in my reading. This was one of the Kidd novels. The plot was fairly interesting and fast paced. I started the book last night and finished it this morning. I always enjoy Sandford’s characters, and this involved several folks from earlier novels.

View all my reviews

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Books, Mystery/Thriller and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In Mississippi Hunting for Bobby’s Killer

  1. vanbraman says:

    I am with you here. Even though I am also working on the 1001 list I still take time to read books that simply call out to me. I have recently found a few good books from some of the blogs I follow and also the new book shelf at the library. I am currently reading Heavy Wings (1001) and will be starting the Columbus Affair for my fun book.

Leave a Reply

