In Barcelona With a Good Book

Here is my July to Sept scorecard, and my review will follow.

  • Orange July 1 2 3
  • Around the World: Africa: 1, 2 Asia 1 South America 1 2 3 4 5 6 Other countries 1 2 3 4
  • 1001 Books 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
  • Nobel: July Aug Sept
  • Pulitzer: July Aug Sept
  • Great African Reads: July Aug Sept

I snuck this trip to Spain in as a side trip because of another crazy challenge thing I’m doing. I have read Zafon before and enjoyed his work, and I didn’t have a Spain book on the calendar yet, so this was a quick add to the Around the World List. As I was reading this book, I really wanted to see Barcelona and walk the streets that the book describes. At the end of the edition I have, there actually is a recommended walking tour. It would be really fun to do this Around the World thing for real! Some of the books don’t make me want to hop on a plane, but this one really did. Here is my Goodreads review:

The Shadow of the WindThe Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Bea says that the art of reading is slowly dying, that it’s an intimate ritual, that a book is a mirror that offers us only what we already carry inside us, that when we read, we do it with all our heart and mind, and great readers are becoming more scarce by the day. Many of my favorite quotes by Carlos Ruiz Zafón are about books and reading. In his novels, books have an almost magical quality. A bit of a love letter to Barcelona as well as to literature, The Shadow of the Wind is the tale of a boy’s search for the story behind a book he takes home on his first trip to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books. The book and its author are shrouded in mystery, and someone is trying to find all the copies that remain and burn them. As we watch Daniel, the boy who chooses the book, grow into a young man, we find that he also has complications in his own life–a mother who died when he was young, a mysterious friend whose history is vague and who is hunted by a dangerous member of the Civil Guard, and a series of seemingly doomed loves. His investigation into the history of his book draws him and those he loves into a complex and dangerous web. The book has lots of atmosphere, a sense of humor, and plenty of romance and suspense. It also moves gracefully, rather than at the breakneck pace of most modern thrillers. For me, it took some time to settle into that pace, but once I did, it was a delicious ride.

View all my reviews

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Around the World 2012, Books, Mystery/Thriller and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

