Another Quick Trip to England

This one was for a rainbow challenge I’m doing on Goodreads. I have to read books in 7 categories, with various requirements between now and December. The challenge is the reason I read a few books with orange covers back to back right at the end of August–those were the only ones with a specific month required. I am now filling in the other colors I had not already completed at least once since July. So I read a quick book with a red cover written by an author with a last name starting with R. Some of these are going to be quick “guilty read” books, but I’m ok with that. I’d rather that Ngugi wa Thiong’o had a name that began with R, since I’m most of the way through Petals of Blood, which does, of course, have a mostly red cover, but I’ll finish that one soon anyway. Instead, I steamed through my first Ruth Rendell. Here’s my reaction: Harm DoneHarm Done by Ruth Rendell
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Harm Done was my first book by Ruth Rendell. I liked it, and definitely wanted to finish it, but it didn’t make me jump up and down. The characters were interesting, but the language was nothing magical. This was a nice detective novel that took on some important themes: domestic violence, family relationships, mob psychology and its dangers. I won’t race out to get another Ruth Rendell novel, but if need a book and a Ruth Rendell is handy I would probably pick it up.

View all my reviews

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Books, Mystery/Thriller and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

