October to December Goals

Well, I hope I will do better with these than I did with July to September! Some of these are related to my goals for the year, which I set back in January or the end of December. I wanted to read 6 books from each of 6 countries on each of 6 different continents/regions. I’ve almost finished that one, with just 3 more South America books to go. I also wanted to read 53 books from 53 different countries (I figured I’d read one for the US, but didn’t really want it to use a spot, so this was a compromise). I’ve read 43 of these so far, so I need just 7 beyond the 3 from S. America I’ve already included. I wanted to read 50 books from the 1001 Books You Should Read Before You Die List. I’m up to 36 there, so I really need to get moving on that list. Originally most of my Around the World reads were planned from that list, but I’ve gone off-script and read a bunch that aren’t on it, either through my Orange Book reads, my Great Africa reads, or Nobel author books that aren’t on the list, or a few random others. Yup, I’ll need a major push on those for the rest of the year. I’d still like to try to keep up with the Pulitzer, Nobel, and Great Africa monthly reads as well. I’m just hoping they will fill the other categories. The Africa group does fiction and non-fiction and have 2 going at a time. I think I’m just going to try to do 3 from their list for now, since 6 feels like a lot, especially since they tend to be books I have to track down and buy. That should be plenty, since I’m likely to sneak some random guilty pleasure books in, like the new J.K. Rowling that is sitting waiting for me to dig in!

So here is the new chart:

Around the World: S. America: 1 2 3; Other: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
1001 Books List: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
Pulitzer: Oct Nov Dec
Nobel: Oct Nov Dec
Great African Reads: 1 2 3

Wish me luck!!

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in 1001 Books, Around the World 2012, Books, Nobel, Pulitzer Prize and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to October to December Goals

  1. Pragya says:

    Good luck and phew for those goals. You are way organized, Beth!

Leave a Reply

