Liberia Through the Eyes of its President

The Great African Reads group on Goodreads has now reached Liberia in its A-Z tour (I will have to double back and read A-K later!), and the book that I voted for in the poll didn’t win. I’m incredibly biased toward fiction, and I’m glad I lost, since this fascinating non-fiction selection is one I would not have wanted to miss.

This Child Will Be Great: Memoir of a Remarkable Life by Africa's First Woman PresidentThis Child Will Be Great: Memoir of a Remarkable Life by Africa’s First Woman President by Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I knew vaguely of Liberia before reading This Child Will Be Great: Memoir of a Remarkable Life by Africa’s First Woman President–I had a distant memory of reading that it was established as a home for resettled slaves, and then I remembered reading of its violent civil war and its government’s horrible support for the devastating war in Sierra Leone. Other than that, as with most of the African continent, I was woefully ignorant. I definitely would have had trouble identifying it on a map or naming its current leader. Well, now I am much better informed, courtesy of the Nobel Peace Prize winning president herself.

I have read reviews of the book that critique it for heavy use of acronyms and clunky writing. I frankly wasn’t bothered by either factor. I don’t expect non-fiction in general to read like literature, so I am not disappointed when it fails to do so. On the rare occasions when it does, I am just pleasantly surprised. There were acronyms for political parties and international organizations when Ellen Johnson Sirleaf discussed them, but I didn’t find them to be a distraction. I had no trouble staying fully engaged in the tale of Sirleaf’s life and of Liberia’s history, which are both fascinating. I came away with a sense of just how much one courageous person can accomplish, if she or he is bright and able to access education. Sirleaf is a truly remarkable character, not perfect, but willing to own up to her flaws. I will follow the history of this nation moving forward in a way that I had never been interested in doing to this point. I hope that Sirleaf’s dreams and plans of moving her country forward through education, sound planning and management, and a commitment to democratic and ethical governance will come to fruition and move her country into a position of greater significance and leadership in Africa and the world as a whole. The world could use more women like her in positions of power and influence!

The October to December scorecard stands at:

Around the World: S. America: 1 2 3; Other: 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
1001 Books List: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
Pulitzer: Oct Nov Dec
Nobel: Oct Nov Dec
Great African Reads: 1 2 3

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Around the World 2012, Books, Nobel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Liberia Through the Eyes of its President

  1. biblioglobal says:

    I’m quite fascinated Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and read her autobiography a couple of years ago. As you said, I definitely follow Liberian news more closely as a result.

Leave a Reply

