A Crime (Fiction) Spree Around the US

I needed to knock off some states quickly to get back on track, and after the heavy lifting I had been doing recently, I decided to just read some books by favorite crime authors. Also, I’ve been stuck at home with a sick 5 year old, which doesn’t lend itself to serious reading. I’ll probably do one more in this category since I’m still pretty far behind and I have another crime novel or two kicking around the shelves here. So far I’ve done a Pendergast (Preston and Childs) novel for Louisiana, a Scarpetta (Patricia Cornwell) novel for Georgia, and a Davenport (John Sanford) novel for Minnesota. I liked all three. They were good solid page-turners with interesting plots. I have to admit that while I ploughed through the Scarpetta novel, Red Mist, it was my least favorite. Kay Scarpetta is a character with so many issues that I get annoyed reading her take on what is happening. I’m still getting to know the eccentric Rolls-driving FBI agent Pendergast, but he’s growing on me. I read Fever Dream which starts in Zambia with the death of his wife in what seems to be an accident, but turns out to be something else all together. As Pendergast discovers this, he realizes how much he didn’t know about his wife. My favorite, though, was Wicked Prey which puts Lucas Davenport, an investigator whose issues I find much less annoying than Kay Scarpetta’s, in the midst of multiple criminal activities occurring in and around the 2008 Republican Convention. An amusing side note in this novel is that it reminds the reader that there was a time when we had no clue who Sarah Palin was. If you need a good diversion, any of these would be a great choice.

I’m actually still doing some “serious literature” on audio. I’m about a third of the way through Don Quixote on audio, but it will be awhile before I finish and review it. I have to say that for “serious literature” (and really old literature, to boot) it’s an awful lot of fun!

Updating the scoresheet:

Around the World (goal: 52 total including at least 6 in each of 6 different regions) 14
Asia/Mideast: 4 (Israel, China, Afghanistan, Japan)
Africa: 1 (Madagascar)
Europe: 4 (England/UK, Ireland, Monaco, Poland)
Caribbean/Central America/North America: 3 (US, Cuba, Haiti)
Oceania: 1 (Fiji)
South America:
Extra: 1 (Scotland)

Around the US (goal: 50 states, DC, and PR): 9 (CA, CO, GA, LA, MN, MS, NY, PA, RI)

1001 Books (goal 52): 11

A to Z challenge (must be completed in order–26 author last names A to Z then 26 titles A to Z–strategy is all!): 11
Authors: Auster, Beinart, Chandler, Donovan, Eugenides, Faulkner, Grau, Hosseini, Ishiguro, Joyce, King
Books:

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Around the US 2013, Books, Mystery/Thriller and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Crime (Fiction) Spree Around the US

  1. Sue says:

    I’ve read all 3 authors but gave up on Cornwell some time ago. The “issues” were an issue for me back then too and sound as if they haven’t improved. If you like Pendergast’s character and haven’t read the earlier books, I’d suggest you go back to Cabinet of Curiosities or Brimstone and read from there. I also like Sanford’s novels, both series, and find them to be well plotted and written.

Leave a Reply

