Checking Off New Mexico

I’m still dealing with a sick kid, so I’m looking for quick easy reads that still accomplish my goals for the quarter. I managed to knock off New Mexico with a quick mystery novel I had lying around, but sadly, it wasn’t much to write home about. Of the batch of state-hopping crime novels I’ve just plowed through, this was the weakest. Here’s my Goodreads review.

Short Straw (Ed Eagle, #2)Short Straw by Stuart Woods
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I started reading Stuart Woods when I was living in GA. I really enjoyed the first few books of his that I read, which followed a law enforcement/political family from the invented town of Delano. I’ve read other books since and have never found that the other series measure up, but I continue to grab them if I need a quick read. I wanted a novel for New Mexico in my 50 states challenge, and I wanted a book that I could read while dealing with a restless kid stuck in the house with strep. This book fit the bill and gave me a pleasant diversion today. The novel follows the chaos generated when the wife of attorney Ed Eagle tries to make off with his substantial savings and investments and then tries to complete the job by putting a contract on him. Eagle sends investigators to track her down, secure a divorce and finish things without a lot of mess and fuss. She doesn’t agree with this plan. There’s quite a bit of chasing around the Southwest and Mexico, some shooting, and some sex. This is a book to read for the fun of the chase, not for the artistry of the language. It does its job, but not elegantly or even cleverly.

View all my reviews

Progress report:

Around the World (goal: 52 total including at least 6 in each of 6 different regions) 14
Asia/Mideast: 4 (Israel, China, Afghanistan, Japan)
Africa: 1 (Madagascar)
Europe: 4 (England/UK, Ireland, Monaco, Poland)
Caribbean/Central America/North America: 3 (US, Cuba, Haiti)
Oceania: 1 (Fiji)
South America:
Extra: 1 (Scotland)

Around the US (goal: 50 states, DC, and PR): 11 (CA, CO, GA, LA, MA, MN, MS, NM NY, PA, RI)

1001 Books (goal 52): 12

A to Z challenge (must be completed in order–26 author last names A to Z then 26 titles A to Z–strategy is all!): 11
Authors: Auster, Beinart, Chandler, Donovan, Eugenides, Faulkner, Grau, Hosseini, Ishiguro, Joyce, King
Books:

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Around the US 2013, Books, Mystery/Thriller and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

