A Quick Hop to Australia

ATWIB 2013 I just finished a quick read of another “book book” (as I call the ones printed on paper now). I’m tentatively labeling it my Australia read, but I reserve the right to change it to S. Africa if I want to read another Aussie option before the end of the year. Here’s my Goodreads review.

Elizabeth CostelloElizabeth Costello by J.M. Coetzee
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m still deciding what I think of J.M. Coetzee. This book made me more of a fan rather than less. It’s more a collection of stories than a novel–with sections having been published separately before being collected in this form. The different chapters are all related to talks given by a novelist,Elizabeth Costello, ranging in focus from the nature of evil to an argument against eating, and particular farming, meat. Costello is an aging Australian writer, most famous for a novel she wrote in her youth centered on the character of Molly Bloom from James Joyce‘s Ulysses. The lectures and the stories that surround them address important questions about the nature of a novelist’s work, questions about belief, writing for the developed world about the developing world, the degree to which certain topics should be left unexplored. I found the book to be fascinating, and easier to read than it sounds from my description. I particularly enjoyed the last section, which reminded me a bit of Italo Calvino or Jorge Luis Borges.

View all my reviews

Progress report:

Around the World (goal: 52 total including at least 6 in each of 6 different regions) 30
Asia/Mideast: 6 (Israel, China, Afghanistan, Japan, Iran, Pakistan)
Africa: 3 (Madagascar, Libya, Ethiopia)
Europe: 6 (England/UK, Ireland, Monaco, Poland, Spain, Italy)
Caribbean/Central America/North America: 5 (US, Cuba, Haiti, Dominican Republic, Jamaica)
Oceania: 2 (Fiji, Marshall Islands, Australia)
South America: 1 (Brazil)
Extra: 6 (Scotland, Greece, Holland, India, Serbia, France)

Around the US (goal: 50 states, DC, and PR): 22 (AZ, CA, CO, DC, GA, HI, IA, IL, IN, KS, LA, MA, MI, MN, MS, ND, NM, NJ, NY, PA, RI, WV)

1001 Books (goal 52): 23

A to Z challenge (must be completed in order–26 author last names A to Z then 26 titles A to Z–strategy is all!): 31
Authors: Auster, Beinart, Chandler, Donovan, Eugenides, Faulkner, Grau, Hosseini, Ishiguro, Joyce, King, Lewis, Murakami, Nasar, Ondaatje, Preston and Childs, Quinn, Rushdie, Scott, Trevor, Updike, Vonnegut, Wouk, Xingjian, Young, Zola YEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Books: All Aunt Hagar’s Children, Big Rock Candy Mountain, Cutting for Stone, Divergent, Elizabeth Costello

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in 1001 Books, Around the World 2013, Books, Nobel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Quick Hop to Australia

  1. vanbraman says:

    To me a “Book, Book” is a “Real Book”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

