The 2014 Reading Plan

For 2014, I will be finishing up some goals from last year that weren’t completed and tackling some new goals.
Around the world in books!Tour of the World
I want to get another 17 countries, including covering neglected areas where I didn’t read at least 6 books last year. I need one more for Africa, 3 for Oceania, and 4 for South America. I will log these, but also keep track of countries that are repeats from last year. I like to know where I have been in my reading each year. These world challenges have been great for exposing me to new authors and new cultures, although some picks have been fairly lame attempts to just pick off a missing spot on the map. Mostly, though, I’ve discovered some great world literature.
IMG_20120904_131924
Tour of the US
I got through 24 states in 2013 (actually 23 and DC). This year I want to finish the missing states and also get Puerto Rico done. This is a list of what I’m missing: AK, AL, AR, CT, DE, FL, ID, KY, MD, MT, NB, NC, NV, NH, OH, OK, OR, PR, SC, SC, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WA, WI, WY.

new 10011001 Books List
I read from all the versions of the list, so it is really 1305 books I’m trying to read before I die. Of course they keep revising the list, so there are bound to be more in 2014… I only got through 27 books on the list last year. That brings me to 185 of the full list, if I haven’t missed logging any, which I might have. I want to try to average a book a week this year. It sounds like a crazy goal, but I have 3 to 4 hours of book on tape time each workday during my commute, so it is probably doable, especially given that I’m planning to tackle a lot of little books from the list as part of another challenge. And certainly, with over a thousand books left to choose from, I ought to be able to find something I like on the list at any given moment.
2014tbrbuttonThe 2014 TBR Pile Challenge
Here is where I’m picking just 12 books off the pre-existing TBR pile (which in my case is multiple bookcases….) to commit to reading this year. I’ve picked little ones under 200 pages. Most are on the 1001 book list. These are to balance out a crazy challenge on Goodreads for the year:

Books that resemble a bulldog

Chunkers: The Bulldogs of the literary world…

The Connect the Chunksters Challenge.
The goal on this one is to read books over 500 pages and find some silly way to connect from one to the next. I will devote a separate post to the way I’ve laid this one out for myself. We are allowed to edit, so long as we make connections, so the list I have now may not be the list I end up with. I have far more “Chunksters”  on my bookshelves than I have listed to tackle, and I succeed in the challenge by doing at least 6. NO PROBLEM. And these are also mostly on the 1001 list or are award winners in some other category, so I should get some good quality reading out of these behemoths! But you can imagine why I might have also committed myself to the specific books I did for the 2014 TBR Pile challenge with this intimidating task ahead of me.

So that is my humble plan for the year. Oh, and I need to get a TX psychologist license and publish some. But that is in my real life, not my heavenly book world. I like it here in the land of literature!  Happy New Year!  Feel free to share your reading goals for 2014 below!!!

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The 2014 Reading Plan

  1. biblioglobal says:

    Ambitious as always! Have fun with your adventures!

Leave a Reply

