Finishing the Divergent Series in Chicago

I altered my Chunksters list to get this book into the challenge, because a friend just loaned it to me. My Goodreads review follows.

Allegiant (Divergent, #3)Allegiant by Veronica Roth
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The third novel in the Divergent series wraps up the conflict in this dystopian series about Chicago. It continues the exploration of issues such as identity and freedom, and also continues to explore concepts such as love, loyalty and forgiveness. I found this one a little annoying to read, compared with the two earlier books, since I had gotten used to having these novels narrated by Tris. However, this book goes back and forth between chapters narrated by Tris and Tobias, not every other chapter even, but without a consistent rhythm. The problem is that Roth has not created unique voices for these two in any real way, so if you forget to look at the chapter heading, you can be reading for a page and a half and then realize the other character is actually narrating. I think this captures why for me this series is only ok. The plot is interesting and the characters are fine, but there is a lack of sophistication in the writing that comes out in issues like what I am choosing to call “the muddy narrator problem.” I’m glad I finished the series, but I am not going to become a true fan on this one.

View all my reviews

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finishing the Divergent Series in Chicago

  1. I felt the exact same way on this one.

Leave a Reply

