Grenada and Sweden on the Edge of My Seat

Around the world in books! I just finished up the second of Stieg Larsson’s suspense novels, and I am going to keep this brief so I can start the third one! The novel definitely captured my full attention, and I was really glad to have a physical copy of the book as well as a copy on audio, since I didn’t want to put it down for the weekend, and also didn’t want my 6 year old daughter to hear it. I’m counting this novel for Grenada, since that is where the action begins, but it takes place mostly back in Larsson’s home turf of Sweden. Here’s what I said on Goodreads:

The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, #2)The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Another gripping episode in the Swedish series by Stieg Larsson, this novel focuses on the international sex trade and a complex web of relationships the nature of which takes most of the novel go become clear. Blomkvist and Salander, the main protagonists of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, are back, but because of quirks of both their personalities, they are estranged from each other at the opening of the novel. It is hard to write about this one without spoilers, so I won’t get into plot, but I can tell you that the novel doesn’t provide a lot of breaks in the tension as this one develops. I should go to bed right now, but instead, I am going to make a quick dent in the final book of the series.

View all my reviews

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Associate Professor of Psychology at Lamar University. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in Books, Mystery/Thriller and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

