January Check in For 2018 TBR Challenge #TBR2018RBR

I have made a great dent in my list this month. It will get harder from here, since classes start tomorrow. So far this January, I have read:

  1. Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris
  2. Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott
  3. Midaq Alley by Naguib Mahfouz

I’m currently about halfway through A Hero of Our Time.

As I post reviews for them, I will link them. I’m proud of myself for reading Midaq Alley finally. I read another of Mahfouz’s books years ago and liked it, but I have been staring at this one on my shelves since 2011. I enjoyed it, although I wasn’t completely blown away. Ivanhoe was another that I’d been avoiding, but it also went quickly, although I ended up listening to it rather than reading my paper copy. Silence of the Lambs almost felt like cheating, since I had already seen the movie, but I read Red Dragon first, so I went into it with a somewhat different perspective than if I had just read with a vague memory of the movie in mind.

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Director of the Lamar University Psychology Clinic and run the clinical track of the Applied Psychology Masters Program. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in 1001 Books, 2018 TBR Challenge, Books, Nobel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment