Facing War Trauma in Edinburgh

Around the world in books!For one the challenges in a Goodreads book group, I finally got started on the Regeneration Trilogy by Pat Barker. The books in the series are on the 1001 list, have received awards and huge critical acclaim, but I was having trouble getting excited about starting them. Once again I have learned that I irrationally fear historical fiction, but love it once I begin to read. This book was particularly interesting to me as a psychologist and faculty member teaching psychology. I am far from psychoanalytic in orientation, but this novel does a marvelous job of illustrating how some of the techniques of psychoanalysis can be tremendously useful in understanding psychological phenomena. The novel also beautifully illustrates the many potential psychiatric manifestations of war trauma. It is written with tremendous compassion for the men whose lives it portrays, soldiers suffering shell shock in the first world war and the doctors treating them. Here’s what I wrote on Goodreads:

Regeneration (Regeneration, #1)Regeneration by Pat Barker
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was a very moving account of the impact of combat in WWI on both the men at the front and those who treated them after the psychologically traumatic events they lived through. It’s based on real people and real events. It is beautifully written, combining some of the real poetry written my soldiers in their time convalescing in a military psychiatric hospital with the author’s own equally well-crafted prose. The novel, which is the first of a trilogy, explores questions about the morality of war, about the ways in which the military and political aims of those safe and in power are played out at great cost by those who actually do the fighting, about the morality of returning psychologically traumatized individuals to relative mental health only to send them back into the trauma. It juxtaposes two very different ways of treating conversion symptoms which translate conflicts about returning to combat into debilitating physical symptoms, and provides excellent examples of psychodynamic psychotherapy complete with analysis of dreams. I used it to teach my personality theories course the day I started reading it, because it was so perfect for illustrating some of what I was teaching about. I am really looking forward to the rest of the series!

View all my reviews

About Beth Parks Aronson

I am Director of the Lamar University Psychology Clinic and run the clinical track of the Applied Psychology Masters Program. Previously, I was a psychologist in private practice in Jenkintown, PA where I specialized in anxiety disorders and working with people living with chronic and life-threatening illnesses. I am a little addicted to good literature. Ok, a lot addicted.
This entry was posted in 1001 Books, Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Facing War Trauma in Edinburgh

  1. vanbraman says:

    I may have to move this one up on my 1001 to read list. You also remind me that I need to check in on Goodreads. I may need to do a bit of group maintenance in the Pulitzer Group.

  2. I don’t fear historical fiction but I do have a particular dread of war literature. I’ve never been able to talk myself into reading these.

  3. Pingback: Regeneration – Pat Barker | 1001 Books to Read Before You Die

Leave a comment